Ethanol

The production of ethanol from sugar in Europe dates back to the early 19th Century. The first molasses distilleries originated in the second half of the 19th Century in Northern Germany, which included KWST. The fermentation of alcohol continued to be developed further over thousands of years, and today it is an existential element of industrial production in many sectors.

For the production of bioethanol as a fuel additive, there is generally only a very limited concentration and purification which is essentially aimed at reducing the water content.

In the field of food, cosmetics and pharmaceutical industry very pure neutral alcohol is in high demand, as it is produced in complex multi-step rectifications and through the use of water (hydroselection). This yields an alcohol that is neutral in taste, i.e. it has no undesirable foreign odor or taste.

At 97.2%vol. ethanol with water forms an azeotrope and cannot be further concentrated by distillation. Using the so-called entrainer distillation, we remove the remaining water. The same effect is achieved by drying using a molecular sieve.

Ethanol

Die Herstellung von Ethanol aus Zucker geht in Europa auf das frühe 19. Jahrhundert zurück. Die ersten Melassebrennereien entstanden in der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts in Norddeutschland unter anderem durch KWST. Die alkoholische Gärung wurde über die Jahrtausende immer weiter entwickelt und ist heute existentieller Bestandteil für die industrielle Produktion in vielen Branchen.

Für die Herstellung von Bioethanol als Kraftstoffzusatz erfolgt i.d.R. nur eine sehr eingeschränkte Konzentration und Reinigung, die im Wesentlichen das Ziel hat den Wassergehalt zu reduzieren.

Im Bereich der Lebensmittel- Kosmetik- und Pharmaindustrie ist der sehr reine Neutralalkohol gefragt, der durch aufwendige mehrstufige Rektifikationen und durch die Verwendung von Wasser (Hydroselektion) produziert wird. So wird der Alkohol geruchlich neutral, d.h. er hat keinen störenden Fremdgeruch oder Geschmack.

Ethanol mit Wasser bildet  mit 97,2%vol. ein Azeotrop und ist destillativ nicht weiter zu konzentrieren. Durch die so genannte Schleppmitteldestillation entziehen wir das restliche Wasser. Der gleiche Effekt wird die Trocknung in einem Molekularsieb erreicht.